Meet Our Team

We are proud of our researchers and now boast nurse scientists in our laboratories as well as university students and junior doctors learning from senior clinicians and scientists. Mentorship and collaboration are core to our efforts.

our board
Dr Warren Pavey

HLRI Chair
cardiothoracic anaesthetist

Dr James Edelman

Deputy Chair
Cardiothoracic Surgeon

Dr Ann Ngui

HLRI Secretary
Cardiothoracic Anaesthetist

Dr Gerald Yong

HLRI Treasurer

Abbey Hannaway

board member
Anaesthetic Technician

Alexandra Moroianu

board member
Management Consultant

Matthew Peacock

board member
Board member / Accountant

Prof Robert Larbalestier

Cardiothoracic Surgeon

Our Staff and Researchers
Herbert Ludewick

Chief scientist

Rebecca Hahn

Trail co-ordinator
and Researcher

Nick Grainger

Animal specialist

Amandine de Charriere

Research Fellow
Cardiothoracic Anaesthetist

Nicola Dixon

Honors Student

Rita Pahl


Interested in joining the team or learning more on how to collaborate together?